INVITATION AU VOYAGE

In this collection, Djillali Mehri invites you not only to share with him a journey through time, but also his own journey as a collector. It all began in 1963 when he saw for the first time a work by Etienne Dinet, hung in the office of a local official in Oran. Struck by its beauty, he made enquiries with French families in Algeria, and buys from individuals or in galleries and public sales.

 

Sometimes a desired picture escapes to him. He consoles himself with another, goes to other painters, other countries, then returns to Dinet.

In his appreciation of the man and the work, Djillali Mehri was indeed a precursor.

 

During the posthumous retrospective, which took place at the Colonial Exhibition in Paris in 1931, Dinet was already a victim, like many others, of the cycle of taste and fashion. His paintings acquired by museums were no longer visible, and his name excluded from works of art history.

 

Even with the revival of interest in Orientalism in the 1970’s, its importance was not recognized during a long time,

an injustice partially repaired by the publication of the long research work by Koudir Benchikou.

 

Today, all this is in the past. Not only a selection of paintings from the collection has been presented to the public in the heart of Paris at “Artcurial” in 2003, but an Etienne Dinet exhibition, also for “Jazaïr, the Year of Algeria in France”, took place at the Museum of Fine Arts of Nantes for the Algerians and their daily life.

La famille

jOIE DE VIVRE

LA FEMME

MIGRATIONS

LA VIE D'HOMME

LA VIE RUrALE ET LE SUD

EAU, SOURCE DE VIE

L'ESPACE ET LE SILENCE

LE RESPECT

LES GRANDES VILLES

Alarçon - Alsina - Anthonissen - Balande - Bellet - Belly - Benjamin Benwell - Birck - Bouviolle - Boze - Bridgman - Brun - Chataud - Checa Sanz - Clairin - Deshayes - Dinet - Giraud - Giroux - Goujon Grimberghe Guédy - Gumery - Güterbock - Hagemann - Huguet - Laporte - Lazerges Lazerges - Lévy - MUENIER - Noiré - Rochegrosse - Rousseau - Siegen Styka - Ten Cate - Theriat - Van Mens - Verschaffelt - Warren Washington - Wauters - Wyld

ACCUEIL

DJILLALI MEHRI

HÔTELS ET TOURISME

NEWS

CONTACT

LA COLLECTION

Groupe MEHRI - 7, rue du 24 Février 1956 (ex Serpaggi) 16.000  Alger - Tous droit réservés - Reproduction interdite - © 2017 - Création :

INVITATION AU VOYAGE

Dans cet ouvrage, Djillali Mehri vous invite non seulement à partager avec lui un voyage dans le temps, mais aussi son propre parcours en tant que collectionneur. Tout commence en 1963, quand il voit pour la première fois une œuvre de Etienne Dinet, accrochée dans le bureau d’un officiel à Oran. Frappé par sa beauté, il fait une enquête auprès des familles françaises en Algérie, et achète aux particuliers ou dans les galeries et les ventes publiques.

 

Quelque fois un tableau désiré lui échappe. Il se console avec un autre, va vers d’autres peintres, d’autres pays, puis revient à Dinet.

Dans son appréciation de l’homme et l’œuvre, Djillali Mehri a bien été précurseur.

 

Lors de la rétrospective posthume, qui a lieu à l’Exposition coloniale à Paris en 1931, Dinet était déjà victime, comme bien d’autres, du cycle toujours recommencé du goût et de la mode. Ses tableaux acquis par des musées n’étaient plus visibles, et son nom exclu des ouvrages d’histoire de l’art.

 

Même avec le renouveau de l’intérêt pour l’Orientalisme dans les années 1970, son importance n’a pas été reconnue pendant

longtemps, injustice en partie réparée par la publication du long travail de recherche par Koudir Benchikou.

 

Aujourd’hui, c’est chose acquise. Non seulement une sélection de tableaux de la collection a été présentée au public au cœur de Paris, chez Artcurial, en 2003, mais une exposition Etienne Dinet, également au sein de Jazaïr, l’Année de l’Algérie en France, a lieu au Musée des Beaux-Arts de Nantes pour les Algériens et leur vie quotidienne.

La famille

jOIE DE VIVRE

LA FEMME

MIGRATIONS

LA VIE D'HOMME

LA VIE RUrALE ET LE SUD

EAU, SOURCE DE VIE

L'ESPACE ET LE SILENCE

LE RESPECT

LES GRANDES VILLES

Alarçon - Alsina - Anthonissen - Balande - Bellet - Belly - Benjamin Benwell - Birck - Bouviolle - Boze - Bridgman - Brun - Chataud - Checa Sanz - Clairin - Deshayes - Dinet - Giraud - Giroux - Goujon Grimberghe Guédy - Gumery - Güterbock - Hagemann - Huguet - Laporte - Lazerges Lazerges - Lévy - MUENIER - Noiré - Rochegrosse - Rousseau - Siegen Styka - Ten Cate - Theriat - Van Mens - Verschaffelt - Warren Washington - Wauters - Wyld

Groupe MEHRI - 7, rue du 24 Février 1956 (ex Serpaggi) 16.000  Alger - Tous droit réservés - Reproduction interdite - © 2017 - Création :